Sharing the power of vulnerability …

Blog-Postbigstock-Vulnerability-Green-Road-Sign-8148695

Let yourself been seen
Love with your whole heart
Practice gratitude and joy
Believe that you are enough

           – Dr. Brene Brown

I wanted to share this Ted Talk by Dr. Brene Brown because I found that this subject is something that many people struggle with. I am struggling with this currently. Fear is a huge barrier. Gandhi said, “The enemy is fear. We think it is hate; but, it is fear.”

We let fear consume us, define us, and keep us from moving forward. However, we are often our own barriers and unlike a character in a movie, we are not constantly acting or doing something to improve ourselves.

My problem, personally, is that I am afraid of the unknown. Not knowing how things will turn out scares me to the point where I have to turn off my emotions – numb myself. Dr. Brene Brown captured my attention when she spoke about this in her Ted Talk speech. It made me realize that this is exactly what I do. I numb myself, but the problem with that is that at times I am out of touch with reality because I cannot stand to engage in my life to stand up to my fears.

In my immediate circle of friends and family, I noticed that this numbness appears in them as well. It made me wonder how to break this chain. It has to start with someone who has the knowledge to make a plan to do it. It has to start with me.

So this is my start to helping me, then my family, and then maybe you. And I am doing this simply by just sharing this insight.

If you would like to get more out of this speech, please see the link below to the Ted Talk by Dr. Brene Brown.
I hope you will get as much out of this speech as I have and much more.

Have a beautiful day!


Sources:

The Power of Vulnerability: https://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_on_vulnerability#t-1083746

Featured Photo: http://www.jeffbloomfield.com/how-the-power-of-vulnerability-accelerates-your-ability-to-connect/

Leave a Reply

